Share Button


Sketches from the Spanish Mustang is a collection of six novellas—each one about 12,000 words long and focused on a character from the town of Cripple Creek, Colorado. Some stories are ghostly, some thrillers, some more family-oriented dramas. There is one that may even be comedic in its execution, if you believe I could possibly write such a thing. The original idea was to “sketch” a variety of people from the town and put them together in one literary collection. In the end, they would be merged together with one more interlaced story about an artist, her sketchpad and a rather unique ability.

There is also history in Cripple Creek, and as with many histories, there are secrets. While I can’t say I buried one of those secrets inside Sketches from the Spanish Mustang, I can say the town is full of them. If you get a chance, you can either visit the town (located on the western side of Pikes Peak in central Colorado) or pick up Cripple Creek Days by Mabel Barbee Lee.

Sketches from the Spanish Mustang is being released in six parts—each a stand-alone novella. They are available as eBooks from,, and for free until the final story has been released. At that time, all of the novellas will be stitched together with one final story and released as a collection—electronically, as a paperback and (for those who really want a special book) as a hardback with artwork (I hope).

I hope you enjoy the stories and I encourage you to pass them along to anyone you know who likes to read. Remember: they aren’t all horror, they aren’t all thrillers, they aren’t all romances. Sketches from the Spanish Mustang is a collection of stories and a view into a wonderful little town that lived, died and was reborn again.

Benjamin X. Wretlind

Colorado Springs, Colorado, 2011

Sketches from the Spanish Mustang

The Retribution of Nathan James – Released Spring 2011 (FREE for Kindle, nook, iPad, iPhone and Sony eReaders)

Shortly after his wife killed herself, Nathan James learns the truth about her affairs of the flesh. With nothing to lose and enough cold rage to fuel his quest, Nathan seeks nothing more than revenge. Will he find it or is something more sinister going on?

The Rebirth of Veronica Draper – Released Early Summer 2011 (FREE for Kindle, nook, iPad, iPhone and Sony eReaders)

Veronica Draper has a problem. Three problems, actually: her mother, her daughter and herself. Somewhere lost in that triad is a way to dig herself out of the mess she’s in and find peace. But where can peace be found in a town struggling to cope with avarice, greed and sloth? How, in death, is there life?

Mighty Chief Chappose Picks Berries – Released Summer 2011 (FREE for Kindle, nook, iPad, iPhone and Sony eReaders)

Dan Chappose is a stereotype who doesn’t want to be one. He’s an outcast living in a world he didn’t create, a world taken from his ancestors. But Dan isn’t alone with that feeling. There are others who feel it, too–dead or not. And they want revenge for the sins of the past.

Cpl Thomas Tweed’s War – Released Fall 2011 (FREE for Kindle, nook, iPad, iPhone and Sony eReaders at

Thomas Tweed is paranoid and lost. In an alley in the cold February air, he is given a warning: someone wants him dead. Unsure of what to do or where to go, Thomas finds himself on an adventure far greater than he ever imagined but in a town and surrounded by people he should have remembered.

The Fortune of Fulano – Coming Late Fall 2011

Brandon and Josh and Johnny Walker – Coming Early Winter 2011-12

You can get them from:

Share Button

Benjamin ran with scissors when he was five. He now writes. Follow him at or on Twitter @bxwretlind